Last summer I played a lot of Yatzy (a Scandinavian form om Yahzee) with my family. I’ve played it soooo many times I can’t even remember when or where it was the first time. As I sat there summing up the scores, it’s good exercise for the brain to do some ‘manual’ calculation, I couldn’t resist the thought of computerizing this rather dull part. By this time you almost always know who the winner is. You just need to know how big the win was. The idea of a simple Yatzy program sprung into mind.

Something stopped me in my tracks thou and I never really got any longer than thinking about the classical ‘Die’-class. And I knew I was barking up the wrong tree. “This early, a randomizing die class … nah”. The whole project ground to a halt.

Yesterday I fired up Eclipse and saw my near year old project and thought I’d restart it. Only this time with a BDD approach and I’ll blog about it. Read more in posts to come.

I wonder how I should visualize the code?

About Ola Ellnestam

Agile Coach, Systems developer, Agile Practitioner and father of three.

Leave a Reply

