For some time now I’ve been under the impression that people > processes. Yesterday it dawned on me. Or rather, people aren’t _better_ than processes, people makes processes work. Not the other way around. The people involved have a huge impact on how the process is carried out. At least when it comes to developing software, which is my profession.

This lead me to do some thinking.

What is significant for a good programmer/developer? What qualities makes a person good at developing computer programs in collaboration with others? Collaboration is the keyword here.

Since I’m very fond of cooperation in almost any form, I have always thought that the sum of two peoples efforts are always larger than the parts you can individually produce. But during this week I’ve had some experiences and I’m not so certain anymore …

I still believe that the sum could be bigger but under some circumstances it might even be smaller. I’ve been pushing these kind of thoughts ahead of me long enough. I’ve decided to write a paper on the subject.

I’ll call it: “The five most important qualities of an Agile programmer”

About Ola Ellnestam

Agile Coach, Systems developer, Agile Practitioner and father of three.

Leave a Reply

